notepad.jpg (20447 bytes)
new Old Profile Notes Guestbook eMail

formulaic writing
2002-12-06 @ 11:27 p.m.

I read "White Oleander" by Janet Fitch the other day. Not a book I would normally pick out, but it was loaned to me by my colleague, Victoria, who is just like me...always looking for new things to read.

Anyhow, it wasn't bad. It was a typical Oprah Book Club pick: Girl has a hard time of it in life, girl hits rock bottom, girl endures and is successful, and finds good people around her.

I've read a few books before that were Oprah Book Club picks. They are all the same, the formula that I stated above. But some people love that shit.

I read "She's Come Undone" by Wally Lamb (another Oprah pick) a few years ago on a flight to London, and when I finished, the flight attendant happened to come by, and she gushed, "Oh, didn't you LOVE that book!"

Actually, I thought it pretty much sucked. It's a whole new genre that is part Harlequin novel and reality...the girl must be pretty (or, at least, end up pretty in the end) and have difficulties in her life, but end up cautiously happy.

I can understand why Oprah quit doing that whole thing with the book club, I think she said at the time that she couldn't find enough good books to recommend...which sounds incredibly pretentious, but I think she is right. Most writing out there is boring and following formulas. There isn't much edgy writing happening, except maybe in Australia.

I do wish I would have written a formulaic book in time for Oprah to pick it and make me a millionaire.

Maybe there is still hope for me, though...I can write stuff like that, and I hear Kelly Ripa has started a book club!

Previous | Next

Miss These?
melanoma - Friday, Mar. 14, 2003
John Gray - Thursday, Mar. 06, 2003
funny tv stuff - Tuesday, Mar. 04, 2003
healthy cat=happy me - Monday, Mar. 03, 2003
mornings - Sunday, Mar. 02, 2003

Layout by KiKi

host