notepad.jpg (20447 bytes)
new Old Profile Notes Guestbook eMail

silly dinners
2002-11-07 @ 1:02 a.m.

I've gone to two dinners in the past three days at nice restaurants...dinners sponsored by the owners of the restaurants to basically schmooze those of us who send them a lot of business.

Both have left me in a food and wine coma for hours afterwards...four course, extremely rich meals...oy vey!

The one tonight was nice, I actually know the owner of the place, so it was nice catching up with him and his wife...nice people. Good food, nice evening.

The one the other night was...well...

Okay, so it's this 4 star restaurant, and they have a really nice wine inventory...like REALLY nice. I've worked at some places with quite impressive wine lists, but this place even impressed me. I mean, I'm not an expert on wines or anything, but I know more than a little, I'd say. I really like Opus One, and they have cases and cases of it...and cases from every year between 1978-now.

Anyway, the owner of the place, Mr. A, is bragging about his wine cellar, and he has every right to do so.

But then we all sit down to dinner, and he spends the next three hours doing nothing but bragging about his life.

His yacht in Europe, and his travels around Europe, and the people he has met (celebrities) and BLAH BLAH BLAH!!! He was SO pretentious, it was unbelievable. He didn't have any interest in any of us, which...okay, even if he ISN'T interested in any of us, shouldn't he PRETEND to be? And he had openings...like he would be saying something about "Oh, yes, and blah blah blah in Rome", and one of us would say, "Oh, yes, I remember that from when I was in Rome"...perfect opportunity to say, "Oh, and when were you in Rome?"

Nope, Mr. A would sip his wine and then grandly continue his stories about yachting around Europe.

Then, at the same time, he is telling us how business has been so down since 9-11, and this guy relies on us to send him business...and I'm thinking...yeah, buddy, sounds like you have been REALLY sacrificing!

So...nice restaurant, nice food, but the owner needs to learn to kiss a little ass, in my opinion.

Previous | Next

Miss These?
melanoma - Friday, Mar. 14, 2003
John Gray - Thursday, Mar. 06, 2003
funny tv stuff - Tuesday, Mar. 04, 2003
healthy cat=happy me - Monday, Mar. 03, 2003
mornings - Sunday, Mar. 02, 2003

Layout by KiKi

host