notepad.jpg (20447 bytes)
new Old Profile Notes Guestbook eMail

September 11, 2002
2002-09-11 @ 11:00 p.m.

Weirdly, when I got into work today and got out the laptop, and got the money from the safe, and finally got settled... looked at the phone, it was 9:11 am.

Whatever, means nothing.

I wasn't all that affected emotionally by September 11th, at the time. I guess I didn't really get it.

I remember, though, going into work a few days later (I was working at AOL) and logging onto my computer before work, and there was this link on AOL that had some of the phone conversations of people who called their loved one's before they died. It got to me, kicked me right in the stomach. I had this knot in my throat all day at work, I wanted to cry so much. I just thought, my god, imagine having a LAST conversation with someone...KNOWING it's the last conversation. And imagine hanging up, saying good-bye.

I thought about having that conversation with Jon, and it broke my heart just thinking about it.

That was when the whole September 11th thing made me sad.

Yup, I'm a self-centered person, I suppose...I only "got it" when I could see it in my own life and all. I read a thing in the New York Times today about how the average age of the people who died in the WTC was 40, and many people lost girlfriends and boyfriends and fiancees...etc. Not married yet. Some of those women in their 30's, late 30's, and will they find love again, and especially in time to have babies? Sad. I'm glad that I don't want babies, and that I have my love, forever.

Previous | Next

Miss These?
melanoma - Friday, Mar. 14, 2003
John Gray - Thursday, Mar. 06, 2003
funny tv stuff - Tuesday, Mar. 04, 2003
healthy cat=happy me - Monday, Mar. 03, 2003
mornings - Sunday, Mar. 02, 2003

Layout by KiKi

host