notepad.jpg (20447 bytes)
new Old Profile Notes Guestbook eMail

Musings on Flashdance
2002-09-09 @ 12:40 a.m.

I was just watching Flashdance on tv.

I LOVED that film when I was a kid, I mean I really loved it. It's a pretty good film, actually. Jennifer Beals was very pretty, and her acting wasn't bad.

The scenes where the girls dance are pretty funny...I've only been to strip clubs a few times, but I have never seen the dancers doing pirouettes or arabesques like the dancers in that film. I can't imagine that most dancers in strip clubs do such elaborate dances with their clothes on, as well.

Some of the scenes are so sexualized that it's funny...there's one scene where all of the strippers are putting on makeup, and one is eating a banana. And then the scene where Jennifer Beals' body double basically bounces around for a while and the camera is on her ass and thighs while she strokes them up and down...and I can't see that scene now without thinking about Chris Farley in "Tommy Boy"..."She's a Maniac, Maniac..." funny shit.

But it's still a fun film, and I remember wanting a ripped sweatshirt so badly. And red pumps (ahhhh...the 80's). And the ability to remove my bra from under my (albeit ripped) shirt so casually.

Some factors about that film are completely unbelievable...a girl with no professional dance training could get a position in the Philadelphia School of Arts. The parts where she comes up with resistance, where every other dancer is beautiful and blonde and wealthy and perfect...well, that part is true. I realized early on that I was too fat for ballet. And I'm not fat.

Great songs in that film, too.

Previous | Next

Miss These?
melanoma - Friday, Mar. 14, 2003
John Gray - Thursday, Mar. 06, 2003
funny tv stuff - Tuesday, Mar. 04, 2003
healthy cat=happy me - Monday, Mar. 03, 2003
mornings - Sunday, Mar. 02, 2003

Layout by KiKi

host