notepad.jpg (20447 bytes)
new Old Profile Notes Guestbook eMail

Dawn
2002-04-19 @ 2:16 a.m.

Here's a story about how evil I used to be, or about evil girls are to each other, or how insecure I used to be...or something. I have no clue what this story means.

When I was 21, and had graduated from college about six months before, I was trying to get into restaurant management. I had been waitressing and bartending and sometimes assistant managing at a small bar/restaurant in a fitness club place. I decided that the chain restaurants was the way to go, so I got hired at a place that was just opening, but was at that time one of 50 in the country. There were a lot of employees, most of them career servers and such, and I was one of the youngest by far. On the first day of training, this girl was sitting behind me, and she was a little older than me, but was telling the people around her that she was planning to go to law school. I remember thinking that she was someone I wanted to get to know. She was pretty, and seemed smart. Her name was Dawn.

Among the 100 or so people who worked there, Dawn and I were soon considered to be sort of the "Hotties". She and I became friends. I thought we were very alike, at first. Turned out that even though she was only a year older than me, she had two ex-husbands. But she acted so classy, and was smart.

We had a manager named Patrick, who I never thought much of. He looked a lot like a young David Letterman, but was blonde and kind of a drunk. We also worked with a kid named Max, who was a few years younger. Max was quite good-looking, but also a bit of a drunk.

Around that time, I heard from another girl, Kat, that Max was interested in Dawn, and that Dawn wanted to date Max, too. I don't know why I got jealous, but I did. At a party one night, Max told me himself that he wanted to date Dawn, and I told him that Dawn was a slut. I don't know why I did that...I guess I just wished he was interested in me. He gave up on Dawn after that, and became interested in me. He and I started dating. We were keeping it quiet to avoid gossip at work. One night, Dawn told me that she couldn't understand what had happened with she and Max, that he had seemed so interested, and then all of a sudden he stopped. I told her, with some evil glee, that Max and I were seeing each other.

I expected her to be stunned, but she was happy for me, and then said that she and Patrick were sort of flirting, and that she was thrilled about it.

I had never been interested in Patrick before, but all of a sudden I lost interest in Max, and was totally focused on Patrick. I totally blew Max off. (Which, as it turns out, was a great decision, regardless of the motives...I ran into Max years later and he had turned into a total loser drunk.)

Dawn and Patrick fell in love and moved in together. She got another job, as management and staff weren't allowed to date. But she and I stayed in touch, and she confided in me that she and Patrick were having problems. And there I was, working with Patrick, and he would confide in me, too. Patrick didn't know that Dawn told me stuff about them, so there I was for him, so ready and willing to listen when he wanted to talk.

Yes, I was a bitch.

When Dawn finally had enough of him, and moved back to the south, I was the shoulder for him to cry on.

I should have known better than to take Dawn's leftovers. She had bad taste in men, but was smart enough to leave them when they were losers. Patrick used to play R.E.M. "Everybody Hurts" over and over, and I thought I could help him over his hurt from Dawn. I thought I coulod help him get happier. Well, I ended up with Patrick, who ended up being a total loser. I felt like I had won, but in the end, she did. I ended up with the black eye when Patrick got mad at me a year or so later.

I don't know why I wanted to "win" my friend's boyfriends. Some sort of weird competitive thing that I have never done again.

Previous | Next

Miss These?
melanoma - Friday, Mar. 14, 2003
John Gray - Thursday, Mar. 06, 2003
funny tv stuff - Tuesday, Mar. 04, 2003
healthy cat=happy me - Monday, Mar. 03, 2003
mornings - Sunday, Mar. 02, 2003

Layout by KiKi

host