notepad.jpg (20447 bytes)
new Old Profile Notes Guestbook eMail

Kimmy & Jimmy
2002-04-16 @ 12:46 a.m.

I was thinking tonight of this weird chapter in my life that happened a few years ago.

I used to work with this woman, Kimberly, who everyone called "Kimmy", and I didn't like her much at first. She was pretty much trailer-park, which I know is a horrible thing to say. But she had the big, feathered, bleached blonde hair, and she was kind of heavy, and her husband was an enlisted military guy, and they had the requisite two kids, and they were from South Carolina, so they had the southern accent "thang" going on.

She was always taking smoke breaks, and generally drove me nuts. I was her boss, at first, and she seemed to resent me. She told me later that she thought I was a prissy, snobby, bitch.

Anyhow, somehow, we became friends, sort of. I promoted her at work, because she turned out to be a hard and dedicated worker. We sort of bonded over work issues, as she was my assistant. Her husband, Jimmy, used to come by the restaurant with the kids a lot...cute kids...Katie had these long blonde curls. Ethan sang in their church's choir, and I got him into the Tucson Boys' Chorus, which sounds silly, but it's a sort of prestigious Boys' Chorus Internationally.

So, Kimmy and Jimmy and I became friends, sort of. Kimmy and I used to have lunch at Olive Garden once a month or so, with Katie. I used to babysit for Katie and Ethan once in a while, on the Air Force Base where Jimmy was based.

Things got weird once in a while. I remember Kimmy and Jimmy coming into to the restaurant that I was managing, and I was behind the bar, helping out. I had lost some weight recently, and Kimmy commented on that, and Jimmy said, "yeah, you look skinny, and you don't lose it all in your tits like Kimmy does". I kind of thought...hmmm...that's an odd comment to make in front of your wife. It should be said that Jimmy was pretty good-looking. I always wondered why he was with Kimmy.

I got a job at another restaurant, and hired Kimmy as a server there. Things got kind of weird. Her husband was sent over to Bosnia for a six month TDY, and he was emailing me, asking how she was.

Meanwhile, she had starting fucking this cook at our place of business, and calling me and telling me about it. And how great it was, fucking him. And the heroin they were doing.

Yowz.

She had been my friend first, not her husband. I didn't know what to do.

I kind of played it off between the two of them...like, everyone's fine.

Kimmy and I had lunch two days before Jimmy was coming home from his TDY, and she said "I'm going to divorce him", and I was like, "ok." I didn't know what to say...you're going to divorce him for a fucking addict?

I ignored Kimmy's calls for a few weeks after that, and finally one night I answered the phone...and it was Jimmy. He was like pleading with me, "Please tell me what you know, please, please, she has left me, please!"

I told him that I didn't know anything. He was begging, begging for his childrens' welfare. I used to babysit those kids, I bought them cute games and clothes for Christmas. They used to love seeing me. Katie and Ethan.

I gave Kimmy up to Jimmy. I told him who to call, her lover.

Jimmy used to call me while the divorce proceedings were going on...he called me a lot. He used to stop by my work with the kids. He used to call me late at night. Finally, his lawyer subpoened me as an expert witness for their divorce hearings...to testify about her potential earnings in the restaurant business.

I reluctantly went to court. I took my friend, Bill with me, as support. It was a weird day...when Bill and I got there, the couthouse had been cleared out because of a bomb threat, and I was thrilled. But they cleared it, and I had to go in. I wasn't called to testify, as Kimmy didn't contest anything. By that time, she was emaciated and heroin-addled. She had no recourse. The look she gave me, though, was chilling. She hates me.

Jimmy kept calling me after it was over. I think he wanted me to get together with him, and I kept avoiding him. He kept stopping by my work with the kids, and they would run to me and hug my legs. Those kids were so cute. But, I wasn't looking for a ready-made family then, and I'm not now. I guess he finally got it when I stopped answering the phone.

I miss those kids, Katie and Ethan. They were cute. But I don't give a shit where Kimmy or Jimmy are now.

I don't think this story has a point.

Previous | Next

Miss These?
melanoma - Friday, Mar. 14, 2003
John Gray - Thursday, Mar. 06, 2003
funny tv stuff - Tuesday, Mar. 04, 2003
healthy cat=happy me - Monday, Mar. 03, 2003
mornings - Sunday, Mar. 02, 2003

Layout by KiKi

host