notepad.jpg (20447 bytes)
new Old Profile Notes Guestbook eMail

Joyce Carol Oates
2002-04-15 @ 1:11 a.m.

I know I am more mainstream than I would like to be...I like music that I shouldn't if I was cooler. And I like literature that is a bit mainstream.

But, I'm tired of apologizing for it. I like what I like. So get over it, anyone who cares.

I love Joyce Carol Oates books, and that's not so bad to admit...she has won some awards, I think including some pretty important ones. Her books are amazing to me, I buy one at the store and it's like a drug...I can barely get home without starting to read it. I pick it up at stoplights and start to read it. I can't wait to read it, it's like killing me to get home and read it. And I've read it before!

And she has the best titles of anyone. Even when I write good stuff, I am terrible at coming up with titles. Joyce Carol Oates has great titles for her books.

"Because It Is Bitter and Because It Is My Heart" is my favorite title. "Do With Me What You Will" is good, also.

I just think she is so fucking talented, and brave. A great writer.

Previous | Next

Miss These?
melanoma - Friday, Mar. 14, 2003
John Gray - Thursday, Mar. 06, 2003
funny tv stuff - Tuesday, Mar. 04, 2003
healthy cat=happy me - Monday, Mar. 03, 2003
mornings - Sunday, Mar. 02, 2003

Layout by KiKi

host