notepad.jpg (20447 bytes)
new Old Profile Notes Guestbook eMail

no clue
2002-03-28 @ 1:33 a.m.

My dad is an alcoholic, although not in the usual sense. He can go for months without drinking, but when he starts drinking, he has trouble stopping. Even then, he isn't as bad as some...he's kind of a lightweight. I could probably drink him under the table.

He called today and said that I should come over for dinner because mom was making one of my favorite dinners, and that he had bought a bottle of good merlot. I was telling my mom while we were making dinner that it chills me whenever dad is around any alcohol. It's not that he is so bad anymore, but I just never want to stick around to see after the first, or second glass.

I told mom that maybe it's our fault for not being more forceful in saying that we wanted him to not drink anymore, and she said, "oh, no, I've done that".

She and I have talked about before that it would be nice to have a nice bottle of wine on holidays, but that we are always afraid of what he will do. He doesn't get abusive or anything, but he's not fun to be around when he's drinking.

Luckily, he only had the one glass of wine tonight. So it was a non-issue.

My mom and I got into a fight tonight, and I guess it started with me saying that I was happy that my brother's wedding had no alcohol, because that negated the issue of my dad's drinking.

And I guess that is that.

Previous | Next

Miss These?
melanoma - Friday, Mar. 14, 2003
John Gray - Thursday, Mar. 06, 2003
funny tv stuff - Tuesday, Mar. 04, 2003
healthy cat=happy me - Monday, Mar. 03, 2003
mornings - Sunday, Mar. 02, 2003

Layout by KiKi

host