notepad.jpg (20447 bytes)
new Old Profile Notes Guestbook eMail

old issues
2002-02-01 @ 4:10 a.m.

I used to be horrible to myself. I used to be pretty seriously eating disordered. I think now that I definitely should have seen doctors about it then. Luckily, I managed to get over it on my own.

I used to throw up a lot. Like 5 or 6 times a day. I know that's not a pretty image, but it's what I used to do. All I wanted to do was eat. I dreamed about food, I would buy huge amounts of food, and I didn't know what to do about that. So I would throw it up. No one really worried about me because I hid it well. The few people who caught on, I lied to, extensively. I hated lying. And I was actually heavier then than I am now that I have quit doing that shit. I didn't look like I had an eating disorder, I wasn't too thin or anything.

I don't know why I wanted food so much then. I just did...all I wanted was food.

I told my mom that I was bulimic once. I didn't get much of a response from her. She's a little obsessed with her weight, and always has been, so I guess that shouldn't have surprised me that she didn't react very strongly to me being concerned about my "weight-loss" tactics.

I'm not sure how I got over it, my bulimia, laxative abuse, etc. I guess it's kind of the same way that I stopped smoking...I got into a healthy work environment, where people weren't allowed to smoke at work, but were also professional, grown-up people, who didn't entertain dramatics. I guess I just realized that bulimia only would hurt me, and wouldn't make anyone pay more attention to me, except in a yukky way. I guess I just grew up.

Which is not to discount people who are battling eating disorders. I know it's not just about "growing up"...I was lucky. I got over it (pretty much, it'll always be a part of my psyche).

Whatever...I'm no psychologist, just babbling about myself. I like saying to people, "I eat a lot" and they say, "Well, you should". I'm so beyond apologizing for eating like I used to. But I also don't crave food like I used to. I eat when I am hungry, a concept that I never believed in before.

I always had a problem eating in front of people, and was afraid that I would revert to that when I met Jon in person, but I didn't even think about it. Honestly. I ate what I wanted, and went back for seconds. I felt so comfortable with him, more than with anyone in my life. I also used to have issues with sharing food, but I fed him food and he fed me food, and it felt so natural, and normal.

Never been so happy and confortable with myself in my life as right now.

Previous | Next

Miss These?
melanoma - Friday, Mar. 14, 2003
John Gray - Thursday, Mar. 06, 2003
funny tv stuff - Tuesday, Mar. 04, 2003
healthy cat=happy me - Monday, Mar. 03, 2003
mornings - Sunday, Mar. 02, 2003

Layout by KiKi

host