notepad.jpg (20447 bytes)
new Old Profile Notes Guestbook eMail

YearEndMusings
2001-12-31 @ 9:19 a.m.

New year, again.

Hard to believe that 2000 was two years ago, the whole "Y2K" shit.

I remember New Years' Eve, 1989, like it was yesterday. We used to have this annual New Years' party at my friend Luisa's house. I was wearing black and white silk pants and a black tuxedo jacket from a thrift shop. When it came to midnight, we all stood in a circle and sang to the song on the radio...horrible song..."Turn around brighteyes"...and wondered what life would be like in the 90's.

New Years' of 2000, I was at a party with people who I worked with then. Things looked great, the world seemed prospective and good. A few months later, my boss handed out $100 bills like they were candy to us at a meeting...it all seemed great.

A few months later, my world came crashing down...and I don't mean to minimize what it must have been like for people who were closer to him than I was. But my world did crash down when Joe killed himself.

Things got ugly and dark then. 2000 seemed like a year to get over and done with. We even said that, at the closing of the old restaurant, something like "good-fucking riddance to 2000...lets' hope 2001 will be a better year."

Turned out 2001 was an ugly year. But it was the best year of my life. I'm SO sorry for all of the countless victims of September 11th, truly I am. I saw a widow of a firefighter on tv tonight, and their wedding anniversary was 9-11, the day he died...broke my heart. All of those stories break my heart.

But I will always remember 2001 as the year I met my perfect love, my husband-to-be...the man who truly saved my life.

I'll always remember where I was on Sept 11th...I woke up early for some inexplicable reason, and saw the news. I called my baby. He didn't answer, but, still, I'll always remember that he was the first person I called that day.

2001 was a very bad year for a lot of people. It was the year I met the love of my life.

Previous | Next

Miss These?
melanoma - Friday, Mar. 14, 2003
John Gray - Thursday, Mar. 06, 2003
funny tv stuff - Tuesday, Mar. 04, 2003
healthy cat=happy me - Monday, Mar. 03, 2003
mornings - Sunday, Mar. 02, 2003

Layout by KiKi

host