notepad.jpg (20447 bytes)
new Old Profile Notes Guestbook eMail

Mr. Talmadge
2001-12-27 @ 1:11 a.m.

I have the least memorable face in the world...people don't recognize me if I cut my hair. It's weird. In high school, I would come back after the summer, and teachers who loved me the previous year wouldn't know who I was. My mom has always said that I should go be a spy with the CIA, because I change one tiny thing, and no one recognizes me.

When I was in 6th grade, my teacher was the coolest guy ever, Mr. Talmadge. We had two classrooms for each grade at that school, "open" and "closed"...totally separate from each other. "Open" was for kids who needed less supervision, and "closed" was for kids who needed more structured education. I was always in the "open" classes. Mr. Talmadge was VERY "open"...he didn't make us have desks or chairs or anything, we got to build areas with our friends with the desks and blocks and stuff, and we had pillows and sleeping bags and stuff on the floor. The lesson plans were very self-paced. He was this kind of wacky guy with a big belly, and he had all of these Buddha statues on his desk, because of his big belly.

They used to have this statewide "Young Authors' Contest" every year, and I had won it from my school every year (not to brag, but I actually won it twice one year, because I transferred schools mid-year and won it at both schools with different stories). Anyhow, I wrote this story in 6th grade that was a fictional diary of an ancestor of mine who moved cross-country in a covered wagon. It won for my school that year, and Mr. Talmadge got it bound and put into the school library. He was so cool.

About five years ago, I was driving by my old elementary school, and decided on a whim to go in. I was maybe 25 or so, and hadn't seen Mr. Talmadge since I was 11 or whatever you are in 6th grade. I didn't even know if he still taught there. I went to his classroom, and someone else's name was on the door, so I just started wandering around. Then I came across another classroom, and his name was on the door. I was kind of standing there in the courtyard, trying to decide what to do, and he walked out. He said hi and started walking down the hallway, and then turned back, and was like, "Stephanie?" I couldn't believe it! We talked for a while, and then he took his class into the library and made me read my "book" to them, which is still in the library there!

It was cool. I should go see him again.

Previous | Next

Miss These?
melanoma - Friday, Mar. 14, 2003
John Gray - Thursday, Mar. 06, 2003
funny tv stuff - Tuesday, Mar. 04, 2003
healthy cat=happy me - Monday, Mar. 03, 2003
mornings - Sunday, Mar. 02, 2003

Layout by KiKi

host