notepad.jpg (20447 bytes)
new Old Profile Notes Guestbook eMail

Angry
2001-10-21 @ 1:47 a.m.

Wow, I'm really angry right now, and I'm not quite sure exactly who I'm angry at.

It's a long story, and probably hard to explain unless you are very familiar with the whole workings of my former place of employment. Until about a year ago, my friend Joe was the General Manager of the restaurant, my friend Bob was the Assistant General Manager, and I was the #3 in the whole scheme of things there. The #4 was Yvette, but before she came in, the previous #4 was this guy John. John's a totally cool guy, we became very good friends while he was there, and I was really sorry to see him leave, but he got a great opportunity in Chicago. He had considerably less management experience than the rest of us, but the owners fucking loved him, but still wouldn't pay him enough money, because they are cheap bastards. So, John left, and Yvette came in. Then Joe killed himself, and Bob got promoted to GM, and I got promoted to AGM. We worked our asses off through a considerably difficult time...working through the loss of Joe while also moving the restaurant to a new building. It's hard to explain all of the circumstances, but suffice to say, it was fucking hell, and we gave it our all, and did pretty fucking well.

I decided that I'd had enough in April, so I quit. Bob kept with it, working his ass off. This week, they fired him. I just found out tonight that they have replaced him with John, who is completely unqualified for the position of GM there.

I know I'm mad at the owners for their decision, but I'm not sure why I'm mad at John. I mean, I'm sure it was a good career move for him, and if they were planning to get rid of Bob, they were going to replace him with SOMEONE, so John shouldn't feel guilty about taking his job, right? But he should, too.

I had been wondering why John wasn't returning my calls lately...now I know why. He knows how close Bob and I are, and obviously he couldn't tell me what negotiations were going on. But I bet he also couldn't face talking to me, knowing he was negotiating something that would put Bob out of work.

I remember thinking, even before Joe died, that the move to the new place would be the beginning of the end for that place...I don't want to be hateful about it, but I really think they are headed downhill. Meaner still, I almost hope they are. They have not yet rewarded their management for hard work and loyalty.

I'm sure none of this makes too much sense, like I said, it's hard to explain without knowing all of the individuals involved.

I'm just pretty angry right now, and disappointed at the way things have turned out there. Joe would be pretty unhappy about the state of things there.

Previous | Next

Miss These?
melanoma - Friday, Mar. 14, 2003
John Gray - Thursday, Mar. 06, 2003
funny tv stuff - Tuesday, Mar. 04, 2003
healthy cat=happy me - Monday, Mar. 03, 2003
mornings - Sunday, Mar. 02, 2003

Layout by KiKi

host