notepad.jpg (20447 bytes)
new Old Profile Notes Guestbook eMail

pointless story
2001-10-20 @ 1:41 a.m.

I don't know why I thought of this tonight, but I was remembering this weird thing from a few years ago.

I went to college in Michigan for a few years, and then came back to Arizona to finish college here. I transferred back to Arizona at mid-year, started at U of A right after Christmas break.

I had been friends with this girl in Michigan, Jennifer, and she called and said she was coming out to Arizona for Spring Break to stay with her grandparents in a retirement community, so we made plans to hang out while she was here. She was a really nice girl, but we hadn't been exceptionally close in Michigan. But I figured, cool, I'll take her out at night and catch up on the Michigan gossip. She was this really cute, rich, popular girl, with a cool, good-looking boyfriend, and I couldn't figure out why she was spending Spring Break with her grandparents in Arizona.

She called when she got here, and I drove up to Oro Valley to pick her up for lunch. Turned out she was here to have an abortion. She asked me to drive her to the clinic for a pre-procedure visit, and then back the next day for the procedure. She didn't have a car, and they had told her not to drive after each visit, as well.

I'm completely pro-choice, but it was kind of weird to be so involved with something like that with someone who wasn't even a close friend.

I took her to the clinic for the first visit...I guess they inserted some things to open her pelvic opening or cervix or something slowly, so she had to go home and wait until the next day. I stayed with her that night at her grandparents' house...she was throwing up, and I was telling her grandma that she had food poisoning. She was kind of hysterical, and I kept washing her up when she would puke and such.

Took her back the next day, and they did the procedure, and when they let me in to take her home, she was sitting in this chair with a couple of other girls who were also in chairs, drinking orange juice and eating cookies...I guess for their blood sugar after the procedure.

I took her home, and stayed with her all night. She slept all night, and I sat in this chair by her bed, watching her to be sure she was ok. I kept telling her grandma that we had been to a doctor for the "food poisoning" but that Jen was okay.

In the morning, she was fine, and thanked me so much for everything. She promised me that we would stay in touch forever. I went up to the house every day while she was here, and she was so nice. The last day she was here, she cried and hugged me and told me that I was the best friend anyone could ever ask for. She went back to Michigan.

And I never heard a word from her again.

It was just weird...we had never been close before that, just friendly at college.

I don't really have a point to this story.

Previous | Next

Miss These?
melanoma - Friday, Mar. 14, 2003
John Gray - Thursday, Mar. 06, 2003
funny tv stuff - Tuesday, Mar. 04, 2003
healthy cat=happy me - Monday, Mar. 03, 2003
mornings - Sunday, Mar. 02, 2003

Layout by KiKi

host