notepad.jpg (20447 bytes)
new Old Profile Notes Guestbook eMail

there is a light
2001-10-19 @ 2:49 a.m.

When Jon and I were pretty new to each other, I sent him this song, because it's one of my favorite Smiths' songs, and he told me that he would have sent it to me, but was afraid it would seem too morbid...the whole dying thing.

With the events of September 11th, and the way Jon and I feel about each other about now, I think it's so perfect that we love this song.

One of the things that haunts me about September 11th is the people who called their loved ones when they were on those planes, and trapped in the WTC. I imagine getting a phone call like that from Jon. And the thought kills me, although I would be happy that he called me, but still...that thought kills me.

I'd rather die with him than without him. This song always killed me, for years before I knew Jon even existed, and it kills me even more now.

There Is A Light That Never Goes Out

Lyrics by Stephen Morrissey

Music by Johnny Marr

Take me out tonight

Where there's music and there's people

And they're young and alive

Driving in your car

I never never want to go home

Because I haven't got one

Anymore

Take me out tonight

Because I want to see people and I

Want to see life

Driving in your car

Oh, please don't drop me home

Because it's not my home, it's their

Home, and I'm welcome no more

And if a double-decker bus

Crashes into us

To die by your side

Is such a heavenly way to die

And if a ten-ton truck

Kills the both of us

To die by your side

Well, the pleasure - the privilege is mine

Take me out tonight

Take me anywhere, I don't care

I don't care, I don't care

And in the darkened underpass

I thought Oh God, my chance has come at last

(But then a strange fear gripped me and I

Just couldn't ask)

Take me out tonight

Oh, take me anywhere, I don't care

I don't care, I don't care

Driving in your car

I never never want to go home

Because I haven't got one, da ...

Oh, I haven't got one

And if a double-decker bus

Crashes into us

To die by your side

Is such a heavenly way to die

And if a ten-ton truck

Kills the both of us

To die by your side

Well, the pleasure - the privilege is mine

Oh, There Is A Light And It Never Goes Out

There Is A Light And It Never Goes Out

There Is A Light And It Never Goes Out

There Is A Light And It Never Goes Out

There Is A Light And It Never Goes Out

There Is A Light And It Never Goes Out

There Is A Light And It Never Goes Out

There Is A Light And It Never Goes Out

There Is A Light And It Never Goes Out

You are my light, Jon, and you'll never go out.

Previous | Next

Miss These?
melanoma - Friday, Mar. 14, 2003
John Gray - Thursday, Mar. 06, 2003
funny tv stuff - Tuesday, Mar. 04, 2003
healthy cat=happy me - Monday, Mar. 03, 2003
mornings - Sunday, Mar. 02, 2003

Layout by KiKi

host