notepad.jpg (20447 bytes)
new Old Profile Notes Guestbook eMail

jealousy
2001-09-24 @ 2:49 a.m.

When I graduated from University, the economy was pretty bad, so I took a job as a waitress at this Mexican-Irish chain restaurant. I wasn't very good at it, at first. I had a really bad attitude, and my managers noticed. They had this guy, Marc (he was a trainer/coach type of person within the company) come in for lunch, and wouldn't you know it? He was sitting in my section! For reasons that defy logic, I decided that I would be horrible that day, because I knew I was being monitored. That's my weird logic.

This other guy who was a server there, Matt, had been with the company for like four years. The company had this thing where "secret shoppers" came in and evaluated our performance. Matt had never been "secret shopped" in his four years with the company. Within that structure, if you received a "perfect" (meaning 100% on all counts) "shop", you got $100.

Anyhow, I was evil to every customer that day.

I got called into the General Managers' office shortly after that day. I expected to be fired.

I was told that I had received not one but TWO "perfect" secret shop reports...I got $200!

Matt was so jealous...he had been doing a great job for four years and hadn't gotten shit for it. At the time, "Hey Jealousy" by Gin Blossoms was a big song on the radio, so I used to sing it to him every time I saw him after that.

That's my stupid story for tonight.

Previous | Next

Miss These?
melanoma - Friday, Mar. 14, 2003
John Gray - Thursday, Mar. 06, 2003
funny tv stuff - Tuesday, Mar. 04, 2003
healthy cat=happy me - Monday, Mar. 03, 2003
mornings - Sunday, Mar. 02, 2003

Layout by KiKi

host