notepad.jpg (20447 bytes)
new Old Profile Notes Guestbook eMail

Michigan
2001-09-26 @ 2:58 a.m.

For some reason, I was thinking today about the last time I was in Michigan. It was almost five years ago.

My grandparents lived in a horrible small town, Parma. It is this unbelievable town, population 500 people. But my grandparents had this great house there, three stories and so cool. I loved that house.

So, five years ago, my grandparents decided to sell the house, and asked all of us to come back there to see what we wanted to take away before they auctioned off everything else.

I went back to Michigan with my parents. Coincidentally, it was Homecoming at the college I used to go to near there.

We spent the weekend going through the basement of my grandparents' house, looking through a lot of things. I took a lot of things, including the paper dolls I used to play with as a child, paper dolls of Ava Gardner, and other 50's stars.

I drove down to my former college for Homecoming, and it was weird. I had no connection with that place. I remember I was wearing a brown jumper with a black turtleneck and black tights and black loafers. I remember a few guys walking by me and saying, "hey, is that Stephanie?" and I ducked away.

I miss my grandparents' old house. My grandpa lives in a new house now, and my grandma died a few years ago.

When I was in college in Michigan, I would drive up to Parma once in a while, and my Grandma would always be sitting on the porch when I got there. I would get out of the car and say, "How did you know I was coming?" and she would say, "Well, Ella said she saw a red Japanese car coming, so I knew it was you."

Small town Michigan, go figure!

I miss my Grandma.

Previous | Next

Miss These?
melanoma - Friday, Mar. 14, 2003
John Gray - Thursday, Mar. 06, 2003
funny tv stuff - Tuesday, Mar. 04, 2003
healthy cat=happy me - Monday, Mar. 03, 2003
mornings - Sunday, Mar. 02, 2003

Layout by KiKi

host