notepad.jpg (20447 bytes)
new Old Profile Notes Guestbook eMail

Portugal
2001-06-11 @ 4:31 a.m.

I'm telling this story for my love, Jon.

I was in Portugal in 1990. My friend Jessica was spending a semester in Spain, so I went over to visit her over my Spring Break. Jess and her roommate, Stacy, had been through a helluva time as foreign exchange students...their "host family" had denied them heat in the winter and served them ketchup on toast as "lunch". When I got to Spain to visit them, they were actually happy to see my sorry ass, because I had a LITTLE bit of money! Stacy's friend, Amy, came over too...she was a sniveling, anorexic thing.

We all traveled together that week...it wasn't that much fun. The trains were over-crowded and smelled bad. We slept standing up, among women with chickens and pigs. When we got to Portugal, Stacy's friend Amy started crying and screaming, "I won't DO this anymore!". We calmed her down and got checked into the youth hostel. It was ugly and dirty, the water trickled out of the bath faucet and it was brown. We washed up as best as we could, and went out for dinner. I had my parents' VISA card, and said I would treat the girls to a nice dinner...everyone was so down. So we went to this nice restaurant, and the girls had lobster...I didn't, because I was vegetarian.

Later that night, the girls all woke up puking, and we finally took Amy to the hospital because she was so sick. Jessica, Stacy, and Amy all ended up being hospitalized for three days with food poisoning.

The hospital was nice enough to provide me with a room of my own, even though I wasn't sick. They recognized that an American chick was out of her league here.

While the girls were sick, I went out and walked around. It was beautiful, the coast was so blue and nice, the air was clean. I had lunch at cool cafes and just shopped a lot. I wished I didn't have to go back to the hospital.

The girls got better and had to go back to school in Spain, and I had to go back to school in Arizona. So we left Portugal.

That's my Portugal story!

Love you, Jon. We'll see Portugal together in a better way.

Previous | Next

Miss These?
melanoma - Friday, Mar. 14, 2003
John Gray - Thursday, Mar. 06, 2003
funny tv stuff - Tuesday, Mar. 04, 2003
healthy cat=happy me - Monday, Mar. 03, 2003
mornings - Sunday, Mar. 02, 2003

Layout by KiKi

host