notepad.jpg (20447 bytes)
new Old Profile Notes Guestbook eMail

surreal
2001-06-10 @ 2:14 a.m.

Lots of weird thoughts tonight.

I'm listening to Simon & Garfunkel as I write this. One of my favorite songs "Homeward Bound" was ruined for me by my friend Kevin, who pointed out once that the lyrics are grammatically incorrect...that "homeward bound, I wish I was homeward bound" should be "I wish I WERE homeward bound"...damn that Kevin, LOL.

I spent the day at my friend Hector's house, learning how to make tamales from scratch. Tamales are important in the Mexican celebration of Christmas. We had planned to learn how to make them for Christmas, but then things changed...our friend died and then work stuff got out of hand, too busy. Everything got lost around the holidays, for all of us. I'll always remember Christmas of 2000 as the worst Christmas ever. At least, I hope so...I don't want a worse one in the future.

Anyhow, so I spent the day at Hector's house learning how to make tamales. Hector is from Hermosillo, Mexico, and his partner, Arnoldo, is from Cuba. My other friends in this endeavor were Bill, from Casa Grande, Arizona, and his partner, Gerard, from London, England. It was me and the gay boys! These guys are the BEST of what gay America has to offer...so smart and educated and cultured...they never throw their homosexuality in anyone's face.

So we spent ALL DAY making tamales, like 12 dozen, because, as Hector explained, this process takes SO long, you have to make it worth it. We made beef tamales, and green corn and cheese tamales. It was fun.

Bill and Gerard live in my neighborhood, so they gave me a ride home. Along the way, we had a surreal drive. We saw a fat African-American prostitute on the street..that was weird...we think we live in a nice neighborhood. And then thought we saw nuns, but they turned out to be Arabic women. We saw police cars coming toward us, and we pulled over. We didn't know what to do, the cop car stopped in the middle of the street. A lot of police cars pulled up, so we went onto a side street, parked the car, and walked over to watch. The whole street was blocked off by the police. We just stood there and watched a house burn down. It was weird.

Felt David Lynch-like.

And then I came home and talked to my love, Jon. God, I love you Jon.

Previous | Next

Miss These?
melanoma - Friday, Mar. 14, 2003
John Gray - Thursday, Mar. 06, 2003
funny tv stuff - Tuesday, Mar. 04, 2003
healthy cat=happy me - Monday, Mar. 03, 2003
mornings - Sunday, Mar. 02, 2003

Layout by KiKi

host