notepad.jpg (20447 bytes)
new Old Profile Notes Guestbook eMail

weird
2001-05-19 @ 3:51 a.m.

Had a sort of weird experience today. I went to this grocery store, and I guess I should explain what this place is like even before I start the story. It's called "Bargain Bin" and it is on the south side of town...my dad calls it the "Used Food Store", but in reality it is basically a dented can store. It's a pretty good deal, you can get, like, Campbell's Soups there for 50 cents that you pay, I don't know, maybe $1.50 at regular stores? They have some other stuff, too, but I stopped buying any dry goods there, like rice mixes, after I had too many of them with weevils in them. But the canned stuff is fine.

Anyhow, I went there today and got my canned soups and beans and veggies, etc. Went to pay, and forgot that they don't take credit cards, and I had no cash. The cashier was really nice, she called me "hun" many times, and said that they take checks. So I wrote a check, and the second I gave it to her, I remembered that my Driver's License was in the pocket of the skirt I had worn to a club last night. Somehow I convinced the manager of the store to accept a very old and expired Driver's License that I had in my wallet for ID. He ran the number through his computer system, and I guess I passed. My purchases entailed $5.50, and I had $3.00 in my wallet. At one point, this really nice old woman behind me in line asked her husband to give me the money to make up the difference. And the cashier told me three times that they accept "Quest" cards...that's food stamps. Guess I looked pretty needy today! I left there feeling kind of humiliated.

I can't even imagine how hard this situation would be if you were actually short of cash and couldn't pay for your food. I mean, I was ready to say, oh forget it, and go buy the same food at Safeway or whatever. And I buy this stuff at the "Used Food Store" cuz it saves me money, but I can certainly afford it at the regular store. But I can't imagine how stressful it would be if you were buying food for your family at the cheapest place possible, and you couldn't pay for it.

I'm not a stupid girl, and this is not the first time that the idea of poverty has occurred to me. It was just strange being treated like someone who is poor.

Previous | Next

Miss These?
melanoma - Friday, Mar. 14, 2003
John Gray - Thursday, Mar. 06, 2003
funny tv stuff - Tuesday, Mar. 04, 2003
healthy cat=happy me - Monday, Mar. 03, 2003
mornings - Sunday, Mar. 02, 2003

Layout by KiKi

host