notepad.jpg (20447 bytes)
new Old Profile Notes Guestbook eMail

thinking back
2001-05-20 @ 3:03 a.m.

I was watching "Pee Wee's Big Adventure" tonight on, of all things, Turner Classic Movies. That film is like 12 years old, right? Why is it on TCM?

Anyhow, it reminded me of this guy I dated in high school, he used to do the Pee Wee schtick a lot (he was an "ACTOR", lol...the whole drama department of high school gets so overbearing...but actually, I think he was an extra in "Can't Buy Me Love", along with a lot of my friends from high school). Anyhow, the first time I saw "Pee Wee's Big Adventure" was the summer after I graduated high school, on videotape at his house, or, actually, his parents' house. Weirdly, I remember everything about that night, even what I was wearing...a white tank top and pink shorts and these silver Esprit flip-flops that were very hip among our set at the time. We were all cuddled up together on the sofa, and I felt very happy with him.

It was kind of a weird situation, he was one of the best friends of my sort of constant high school boyfriend, Chad. And his sort of constant high school girlfriend, Veronica, was a good friend of mine. Weirdly, we had both broken up with our significant others, and stranger still, Chad and Veronica were on the same tour of Europe.

So I was dating Jeremy, and felt pretty good about it. Jeremy had a summer internship at this local advertising agency, and he called me every day on his lunch break, and we saw each other every night. I was going away for college in Michigan in the fall, and had bought a car that I couldn't drive because it was a stick shift, and I had never driven a standard car before. My dad had convinced me to buy this car, but then provided no help in teaching me how to drive it. Jeremy finally came over to my parents' house one morning at like 5.00 am and hauled me out of bed, and taught me how to drive the damn car when there was no traffic on the road.

I remember one night, Jeremy and I went to the movies and ran into Chad's parents. I felt really powerful, like, yeah, now Chad will know that I have moved on. It should be said that I was really in love with Chad but treated him very badly. He was so sweet and I fucked with his emotions and intentions continually.

Anyhow, Chad got back from Europe, and at the same time, Jeremy stopped calling me. I called Jeremy a few times and got no response, so I played it cool and let it go. I don't remember how Chad and I got back in contact, but I remember that we went to see a movie "just as friends" and ended up at the top of Skyline Drive, standing outside his car, and he pulled out this beautiful gold ring that he had bought for me in Italy. I remember that moment so well, I was wearing a t-shirt from the local University and red shorts and those weird sandals, again, and I thought, oh my god, this guy bought me a gold ring even when we were not together. He thought there was enough of a chance for us that he bought this ring for me even when we were broken up at the time.

And I remember us kissing so very sweetly against his car that I wanted him very badly (I hadn't had sex then...we did later that summer).

It turned out to be an excellent end of the summer for us. I, of course, fucked things up later. Chad went away at the end of the summer, a week before I was leaving for college in Michigan. I still remember the night I said goodbye to him. My parents, in an uncharacteristic move, allowed me to stay out as late as I wanted. I remember saying goodbye to Chad, sobbing, and he was so sweet. I drove home listening to the newest Morrissey..."Everyday Is Like Sunday" How very maudlin and high school dramatic is that?

Of course, within a week, I fucked things up. I went to a party before I left for Michigan, and Jeremy was there. We ended up on a patio, and I asked him why he blew me off when Chad got back from Europe. He said that he knew I would go back to Chad. I ended up sitting on Jeremy's lap in a plastic patio chair, kissing madly, and telling him that I would never have gone back to Chad if Jeremy hadn't blown me off. I was pretty fickle in those days.

This, of course, came back to haunt me. Veronica was at that party, saw what was going on with Jeremy and I, and told Chad about it a few weeks later. Things between Chad and I (now 2000 miles apart) deteriorated pretty swiftly after that. Although, actually, he gave me way more chances in the following years than he should have.

I ended up transferring back to our hometown University after a year and a half in Michigan, and ran into him at a party shortly after I got back into town. There was this big buzz all around the party about both of us being there, this whole silly thing of like, "Omigod! Are they going to start screaming at each other?!" (We used to fight a lot, so that that wasn't completely unfounded). As it turned out, we tried to be really sophisticated and cool toward each other, but ended up back at my apartment having great sex. And kept doing that for a few years.

But, it never worked out for us. He married a girl a few years ago who, strangely, has the same first name as me and looks quite a bit like me (although, of course, I am better-looking, and taller, and thinner...LOL). I went to the wedding, it was cool to be adults and no more of the hystrionic drama of young adulthood. I'm really glad he is happy now. And glad for myself that the first person I had sex with was someone I was in love with, and who loved me.

And that whole silly high school romance story stemmed from seeing a "Pee Wee" movie on tv today!

Previous | Next

Miss These?
melanoma - Friday, Mar. 14, 2003
John Gray - Thursday, Mar. 06, 2003
funny tv stuff - Tuesday, Mar. 04, 2003
healthy cat=happy me - Monday, Mar. 03, 2003
mornings - Sunday, Mar. 02, 2003

Layout by KiKi

host