notepad.jpg (20447 bytes)
new Old Profile Notes Guestbook eMail

my friend
2001-05-14 @ 2:35 a.m.

Awww...Douglas Adams is dead. That sucks. I love the Hitchhiker books so much. Joey Ramone, and now Douglas Adams. The icons always die young.

My best girlfriend is from this very conservative East Coast family, but she lives out here on the West Coast now, and spends all of the holidays with my family. On Easter, it was just she and I and my parents (her son was with his dad and no-one else came down for the holiday) and we ended up sitting around talking about our more dysfunctional family members. She told this sort of hilarious story about her uncle, and how he married right out of high school and had kids, but then divorced his wife and pretty much estranged himself from all of the family. He moved to San Francisco and lived there with his roommate, Wolfgang, and ultimately died of a heart attack when he was 35. He was shipped back to Connecticut in a box for burial. And this was in 1980 or 1981, she says. My very naive mother starts saying, "Oh my! 35 is so young to die of heart disease!" and quizzing my friend about her family's health history, while my dad and I are sort of kicking mom's legs under the table. Finally, my friend starts laughing and says, "well, I know my family doesn't accept it, but everyone knows he didn't die of heart attack." My sweet mom was clueless. We were all laughing, and I said, "mom...ummm...AIDS." My poor mom's mouth dropped open.

So sad that my friend's family won't admit what actually killed him. But she is the coolest chick, she has come so far from the hick girl she was when I first met her. She is so fucking cool, love her so much.

Previous | Next

Miss These?
melanoma - Friday, Mar. 14, 2003
John Gray - Thursday, Mar. 06, 2003
funny tv stuff - Tuesday, Mar. 04, 2003
healthy cat=happy me - Monday, Mar. 03, 2003
mornings - Sunday, Mar. 02, 2003

Layout by KiKi

host