notepad.jpg (20447 bytes)
new Old Profile Notes Guestbook eMail

what is exciting
2003-02-11 @ 6:08 p.m.

One of my best friends had a baby a week or so ago. She was in labor for two days, and then still had a c-section.

Sounds pretty fun.

It's hard for me to picture her as a mother for some reason, even though I've known her since we were kids, and I've seen her do a great job with her much younger brother and the little kids we used to coach on swim team.

It just never seemed like a big goal for her to have kids. Maybe she always did want kids and I just never knew it. I could swear that she used to say that she didn't, though. Maybe she changed her mind, she is allowed to do that, I understand.

I think so many people just sort of have kids because they think it's what they are supposed to do. Like, with her, she does what is sort of expected for the "perfect life"...got her MBA from a top school, got a good job with a big company, found a nice guy with money and education...and then they spend all of their time fixing up his old house, which is something she NEVER showed any interest in before she knew him. But it's like that's what all of their yuppie friends were doing. That seems to be the chain of progression for a lot of people I know: Get married, spend the next few years fixing up a house and talking about Home Depot obsessively, and then have a baby.

Well, I hope she's happy. She actually seems pretty happy.

I don't know, I just sometimes wish everyone didn't have to grow up and get boring. Not that I'm the most exciting person in the world, but at least I'm not knee-deep in baby vomit and diapers. And I have no interest in learning how to install hard-wood flooring, either.

But, to some, maybe that is exciting.

Previous | Next

Miss These?
melanoma - Friday, Mar. 14, 2003
John Gray - Thursday, Mar. 06, 2003
funny tv stuff - Tuesday, Mar. 04, 2003
healthy cat=happy me - Monday, Mar. 03, 2003
mornings - Sunday, Mar. 02, 2003

Layout by KiKi

host