notepad.jpg (20447 bytes)
new Old Profile Notes Guestbook eMail

weird thanksgiving
2002-11-29 @ 12:40 a.m.

Well, an interesting Thanksgiving.

Worked in the morning, and true to form, the employee cafeteria served up an extremely disgusting Thanksgiving Dinner to the employees...really yucky food, and in non-compliance with the code of the Health Department, as usual. I have written and dropped notes into the comment box before, with detailed notes about the Health Department violations, but...no improvements yet.

Anyway, went over to my friend Jessica's house for the real deal after I got off work...actually, Jessica's parents' house.

I have known Jessica since I was about 13 years old, I know her family and extended family pretty well. I would say that they are my second family. I have spent more time at her parents' house than at any of my other friends' houses. I know where the cooking appliances at at her parents' house more than I do at my own parents' house. I was at her little brother's Bar Mitzvah, and was in California when her cousin was born, ten years ago.

So, it surprised me today when most of her family went out into the backyard (well, her aunt, uncle, both brothers...one of whom is the one whose Bar Mitzvah I attended, and the older brother's wife) and I didn't know why. Her aunt came back inside, and said, "Oh, I'm sorry we didn't invite you...we are smoking pot out there, if you want some, join in."

It just sort of surprised me. I was cool, I was like, "Oh, THANKS, no, but thank you!"

But I was surprised.

I think Jessica was a bit embarrassed, she just ignored the whole thing.

Her aunt's husband has always been a bit too...solicitous...toward me. After he got stoned, he was even more so. It was a bit weird. I, unthinkingly, told them that I dropped a phone book on my foot today, and it hurt, and then when I took off my stockings, part of my toenail came off with them. And he was like, "well, we should check this out, and make sure that you are okay." Luckily, I had on tall boots and tights, so I was like, "Oh, no, it would be far too much trouble, I would have to go into the bathroom and undress," but he was all for that.

I avoided the whole thing by going to help with dinner.

Okay, whatever...a weird Thanksgiving.

And, tomorrow, I am off to my best friend's wedding weekend. It will be nice. I just wish I could stay at home for the weekend.

But it will be nice, I am sure.

Previous | Next

Miss These?
melanoma - Friday, Mar. 14, 2003
John Gray - Thursday, Mar. 06, 2003
funny tv stuff - Tuesday, Mar. 04, 2003
healthy cat=happy me - Monday, Mar. 03, 2003
mornings - Sunday, Mar. 02, 2003

Layout by KiKi

host