notepad.jpg (20447 bytes)
new Old Profile Notes Guestbook eMail

watch out for D.O.s!
2002-10-30 @ 11:46 p.m.

Ok, so I have had this awful searing pain in my left ribs just under my breast for almost two weeks now.

Went to my doctor, he is a D.O., Doctor of Osteopathy, which means he is a doctor, but also trained in chiropractic manipulations.

I've been a bit suspect of him for a while, because it seems like every time I go to him, he says, "oh, yeah, your spine is out of whack (is that a medical term?) and cracks my back and gives me anti-inflammitory drugs.

He has been my doctor for maybe four years, during which time I have never been asked to remove a stitch of clothing when seeing him. Don't get me wrong...I don't like taking off my clothes for doctors, but it just seems a bit odd that he has never done a full physical on me.

So, I went to see him with this rib pain, and he asked a few questions. He said that my ribs were out of alignment, and then cracked my back, and prescibed an anti-inflammatory, and said I would be fine.

I wasn't.

So I went back, and he cracked my back a "different way" and prescribed a different anti-inflammatory, and said I would be fine.

And I wasn't.

So I went to another doctor today, not a D.O., but an M.D.

And she was nice, and she asked me a lot of questions, and she made me put on a gown, and she felt my stomach and ribs and all. And she could tell when it was hurting me, because she was actually touching where it hurt!

And, so, I have bruised ribs. And there's not much to be done about it, but at least I know what it is!

The reason that I liked going to a D.O. was because I think M.D.'s are too quick to prescribe antibiotics and painkillers when it is something that can be solved by herbal or chiropractic means...so when I started going to the D.O., I thought, great, here is the best of both worlds - a doctor who will have other ideas than traditional medicine!

Well, he ONLY had chiropractic ideas.

So, at this point, I guess I am happy to have found an M.D. who is cool.

I think my D.O. may have aggravated my situation at this point, because my ribs didn't hurt to touch at first, but two weeks later, they hurt when you touch them.

So, whatever, that's my rampage for the night!

Previous | Next

Miss These?
melanoma - Friday, Mar. 14, 2003
John Gray - Thursday, Mar. 06, 2003
funny tv stuff - Tuesday, Mar. 04, 2003
healthy cat=happy me - Monday, Mar. 03, 2003
mornings - Sunday, Mar. 02, 2003

Layout by KiKi

host