notepad.jpg (20447 bytes)
new Old Profile Notes Guestbook eMail

Society bitches
2002-09-15 @ 12:10 a.m.

They had this hoity-toity thing at the resort where I work today...this luncheon for all of these silly rich women. The charity group that they fund has the most prestigious ball of the season, so this was a luncheon for those silly women.

And silly they were.

They showed up in hats and gloves befitting of the Royal Ascot. And I know I JUST wrote something in my diary about how fun it would be to have an event befitting of those trappings, but you know what? It just looked silly in Tucson, Arizona, in September, when it's still like 100 degrees out.

They got sillier, still. Three women, probably in their late 40's, proceeded to the lounge after lunch, and sat there and drank, and smoked, and basically got besotted beyond attractiveness. They came up to my desk, and one woman who appeared sober, said, "We need to make a call."

I said, "Oh, sure, the pay phone is just behind that glass wall" --

--the drunk woman interrupted me by slurring, "I don't THINK so!" and picked up the phone on my desk.

They called someone, trying to get a cab, and the drunk woman said, "It's ridiculous, I'm so close to home", and the sober woman (to her credit) said, "well, it'll be easier this way."

While they were waiting for the cab, my colleague, Jen, said to the sober woman, "I love your hat."

The drunk woman said, "You all should wear hats like these at work."

Jen laughed and said, "Well, we can't, we have these uniforms"

At which point the drunk woman looked us both up and down, and then said "Uggh!" (Her opinion about our uniforms)

There's some saying that I can't think of, but it would be fitting. Something about taking a woman out of the trailer park, but not being able to take the trailer park out of the woman.

Previous | Next

Miss These?
melanoma - Friday, Mar. 14, 2003
John Gray - Thursday, Mar. 06, 2003
funny tv stuff - Tuesday, Mar. 04, 2003
healthy cat=happy me - Monday, Mar. 03, 2003
mornings - Sunday, Mar. 02, 2003

Layout by KiKi

host