notepad.jpg (20447 bytes)
new Old Profile Notes Guestbook eMail

Mystery Solved
2002-09-14 @ 12:22 a.m.

Just call me Nancy Drew, girl sleuth.

Well, I got home tonight, my neighbors' house was still dark, and the dog was barking. Things just didn't seem right. I looked up her number through directory assistance, called and left a message, saying that I was a bit concerned, because the dog was barking and the house was dark. A bit later, this very nice girl called me and said that I had left a message on her answering machine, but that it was a wrong number. The girl was very nice, she was like, "Wow, now I'm concerned, too!"

I called my parents and was telling them about the situation, and my dad said to call the police. I just didn't want to do that in case she was just out of town and had someone coming in once a day to feed the dog, and the dog was lonely in the meantime. Didn't want to cause undue trouble for her if things were all ok.

I called the number again, and the same girl answered, and I said, "I'm sorry to bother you, I was just checking to see if I mis-dialed before." She was so nice, she said, "well did you dial ***-****", and it was a completely different number than the one I had dialed. That was weird.

So I called the phone company.

Yep, you thought I was kidding when I said I was being the girl sleuth before!

A very nice lady at Qwest (and that's amazing...most people at Qwest are NOT nice) tried to look up why the phone number I was dialing was routing to a different number. She couldn't figure it out. She advised me to call the police.

Well, girl sleuth that I am, I decided to go investigate. I thought I would knock on the neighbors' door on the other side.

I walked over there, and saw that my neighbor's security door was open. My knees started shaking. Then I saw that her front door was also open. I seriously was scared. The house was totally dark, but I could see someone moving in there. I was like an idiot, crouched down and peering in the window, and I could see that it was a girl. I thought it was my neighbor, so I stuck my head inside the front door and said "Hello?"

A woman said "Yes?"

I said, "Jo?"

And she said, "No, I'm housesitting for Jo, and do you know why the power is out?"

Oh my...I was honestly shaking before that. I showed her where the main control was to flip on the electricity...guess those yahoos who were out here yesterday shut off her power, too, and forgot to turn it back on.

Totally cool chick. Housesitting for my neighbor, and I guess gets in late at night, so that's why the dog barks all day and night.

Norma, one of my colleagues, told me today that Friday the 13th is a lucky day for Italians, and I guess that was my luck for the day...I ventured out just at the right moment to find out that all is good.

Previous | Next

Miss These?
melanoma - Friday, Mar. 14, 2003
John Gray - Thursday, Mar. 06, 2003
funny tv stuff - Tuesday, Mar. 04, 2003
healthy cat=happy me - Monday, Mar. 03, 2003
mornings - Sunday, Mar. 02, 2003

Layout by KiKi

host