notepad.jpg (20447 bytes)
new Old Profile Notes Guestbook eMail

Guilty pleasures
2002-09-05 @ 12:18 a.m.

Guilty Pleasures.

I have stated before that I read, a lot. And I read pretty much anything that is placed in front of me.

This is a multi-point story, in some ways.

I went to the library tonight to drop off a book that was almost overdue (the library has a lovely three-day extension period...I love the public library). The book, by the way, is well worth reading, which I think I have discovered 20 years after everyone else who read it..."Stranger Beside Me" by Ann Rule. Wow, an amazing story (about Ted Bundy)...he was quite the "life is stranger than fiction". Very interesting read.

So, it was raining pretty hard when I got to the library, and this is my favorite library, although it has the least selection of books. I just love it because it was the library we went to when I was a child.

However, it is in a park where a lot of homeless people live. When I pulled up and parked, I saw the homeless people huddled under the porch from the rain. I got out of my car and started running towards the building, and this very nice homeless man who was parked under the porch ran out and held a newspaper over my head as I ran to the library. He didn't ask for money, and I have seen him there before...he never asks for money. It was nice.

I dropped off my book, and looked for something else, and found...Jackie Collins. Oh, yeah.

My guilty pleasure, Jackie Collins books. Love them. I was reading the foreword to my honey tonight, and they are so great. I have read all of them. Actually, I think I missed one, but I will find it soon.

It's the kind of book that you are embarrassed to check out at the library. Same way that you are embarrassed when you are buying a six-pack of Mountain Dew, a Slim Jim, and a box of tampons.

I feel proud when I am buying a bunch of green onions, a bulb of garlic, some pasta, and a tomato. And some low-fat cheese.

Or, at the library, something by Theodore Dreiser. Like Sister Carrie.

Lately, I have been checking out silly books. Like Jackie Collins. And Dominick Dunne, who I adore, and would love to meet.

I have this great idea, that random people should be presented with a list of books that someone has read in the past year, and try to guess who that person is. Like, what that person is about and who they are in life, and what gender and social standing, and all. I think it would be cool.

Ok, that's that.

Previous | Next

Miss These?
melanoma - Friday, Mar. 14, 2003
John Gray - Thursday, Mar. 06, 2003
funny tv stuff - Tuesday, Mar. 04, 2003
healthy cat=happy me - Monday, Mar. 03, 2003
mornings - Sunday, Mar. 02, 2003

Layout by KiKi

host