notepad.jpg (20447 bytes)
new Old Profile Notes Guestbook eMail

spoiled rich kids
2002-08-23 @ 12:15 a.m.

I work at this pretty ritzy resort, the nicest in town.

This week, we have families who are bringing their kids in to get settled at the University here.

Man, are these kids spoiled.

Don't get me wrong, I grew up with parents who had some money...I always have thought that I was spoiled. My dad is an attorney and CPA, mom was a homemaker (but with a college degree of her own), we lived in a historic neighborhood, had the requisite Europe vacations, nice cars, private schooling, etc.

I went away to a college in Michigan that was $25,000 a year (this was in 1988)...but I had a full academic scholarship. I lived in the dorms. When my parents came to visit, they stayed with my grandparents, so I guess that's an unfair comparison to the people who are staying at the resort now...maybe they don't have people to stay with.

When I transferred back to the University here, I shared a one-bedroom apartment with my friend Jessica, who comes from an old-money family. At that time our rent was $360 a month...meaning we split that.

The families staying at the resort now are so amazing. Their kids (freshman) are not living in the dorm...they are living in apartments that cost about $700-$1000 a month, with workout facilities and laundry facilities (meaning:someone does their laundry for them). It's amazing.

And the funny thing is, these parents come up to me and say, "What's a GREAT restaurant we can go to tonight?" So I give them the options, and then they say, "Well, can the kids wear shorts? They won't dress up."

Ok.

I say, sure most of these places are ok with casual dress.

Then they say, "And do they have burgers and stuff, because we have teenagers."

I was telling my mom about this yesterday, and I said, "Wow, I really think I would have been able to eat something other than burgers when I was 18 years old, AND be able to wear something other than shorts and a t-shirt"

Mom was like, "Um, yeah, I think you would have been fine at any restaurant when you were 4 years old!"

Ridiculous, these rich people who allow their kids to say "I won't wear Dockers and a decent shirt, and I won't eat anything but a hamburger."

Previous | Next

Miss These?
melanoma - Friday, Mar. 14, 2003
John Gray - Thursday, Mar. 06, 2003
funny tv stuff - Tuesday, Mar. 04, 2003
healthy cat=happy me - Monday, Mar. 03, 2003
mornings - Sunday, Mar. 02, 2003

Layout by KiKi

host