notepad.jpg (20447 bytes)
new Old Profile Notes Guestbook eMail

My dream house is gone
2002-04-26 @ 12:34 a.m.

I used to live in this house that I ADORED, from the time I was 5 until 8 years old. That's not a long time, I know, but I just loved that house. It was built in the 1920's (that's old in Arizona!) and had these great wood floors, and crystal doorknobs, and arched doorways, and fireplaces in the living room and master bedroom...it was great. It also had a basement, which is also pretty rare in Arizona. It wasn't a very fancy house, it was fairly small, but it had so much character. I just adored that house.

My family went to Austria for about 3 months when I was 8, and when we got back, we had a letter saying that the city was going to buy the house, in order to widen the street it was on. So, my parents sold the house. This was in 1978.

Meanwhile, the city stalled on its expansion plans, and the house was bought and made into a daycare center. I actually applied there for a job once, in maybe 1990, and still loved the house.

Well, finally, the city is doing it, and I drove by the house a few days ago, and it's gone. Totally gone, except for the big wall surrounding it, which has gang graffiti all over it.

Broke my heart...I loved that house.

When we moved out of that house, in 1978, my parents bought the house that they still live in now, and it's a great house, really nice, in a much nicer neighborhood and worth a whole lot more than the other one.

But, someday, I want a house with wood floors, and crystal doorknobs, and arched entryways, and fireplaces in the living room and master bedroom.

I love old houses like that. My love and I are going to have one eventually. I know it.

Previous | Next

Miss These?
melanoma - Friday, Mar. 14, 2003
John Gray - Thursday, Mar. 06, 2003
funny tv stuff - Tuesday, Mar. 04, 2003
healthy cat=happy me - Monday, Mar. 03, 2003
mornings - Sunday, Mar. 02, 2003

Layout by KiKi

host