notepad.jpg (20447 bytes)
new Old Profile Notes Guestbook eMail

Counting Crows
2002-03-15 @ 1:45 a.m.

Listening to "Round Here" by Counting Crows...reminds me of a summer a while ago, maybe 1993 or 1994. I wasn't very happy then.

I went to visit a friend of mine from college who was living in Denver. Her name is Piper, I had met her when we were camp counselors together in New Mexico in 1989. We stayed in close touch by mail for a long time.

When I went to see her in Denver, I was in a pretty bad state, pretty fucked up with eating disorder shit. I had been looking forward to going to Colorado to get away from the heat, but, as it turned out, Colorado was having a heat wave. It was like 102 degrees there, which isn't too bad by Arizona standards, but she had no air-conditioning in her apartment. She had to work every day, and I drove her there in her shitty old standard shifting car...the gear shift didn't have a knob anymore and the thing bit into my hand whenever I drove it. I came back to her apartment and read a lot, and watched the pre-trial hearings of OJ Simpson on tv in the background.

I used to walk to the local market and buy food, and puke it up. So glad I don't do that anymore.

At night, we went out to parties at her friends' houses, or to a local alternative club. Piper was dating a guy with a little daughter, the little girl was like 3 or so, and a total brat.

I guess Piper and I were at different places in our lives, then. She was all ready to be a mommy, and I was all about puking my guts out. We sort of had it out on July 4th. We went to this Country Club to watch the fireworks from the golf course, and the little girl decided to lie on my tummy and have me hug her...Piper got jealous.

When we got back to her apartment that night, she was very short with me. I left the next day...and haven't spoken with her since.

And that's what the Counting Crows remind me of.

Previous | Next

Miss These?
melanoma - Friday, Mar. 14, 2003
John Gray - Thursday, Mar. 06, 2003
funny tv stuff - Tuesday, Mar. 04, 2003
healthy cat=happy me - Monday, Mar. 03, 2003
mornings - Sunday, Mar. 02, 2003

Layout by KiKi

host