notepad.jpg (20447 bytes)
new Old Profile Notes Guestbook eMail

No point
2002-02-06 @ 3:57 a.m.

Wow, my boyfriend/future husband is the coolest. He writes the best stuff.

I used to hate Valentine's Day so much, even when I had a boyfriend who I liked. I was always like, aw, geez, such forced romance...fucking Hallmark holiday. This is the first Valentine's Day that I want to shower my honey with gifts and surprises and such...too bad I am flat broke. Ah well, he knows that I love him more than anything in the world.

I'm listening to the radio right now, and realized that I don't think even my love knows that I secretly love Barry Manilow. Definitely on my list of guilty pleasures. Right up there with the Bee Gee's and 38 Special and Def Leppard and Toto and Boyz 2 Men...or is it Boyz II Men?

When I was a little kid, I loved the song "Mandy" by Barry Manilow so much. Then I found this book at the Downtown Public Library (which, by the way, was an awesome library in this cool old building with huge tall ceilings and big wooden bookshelves and those old rolling wood ladders to get to the top shelves...the new Downtown Library is nice and fancy and new and computerized and all, but it's nothing compared to the old one...but I digress). The book was called Mandy, and it was about this little girl in an orphanage, and she sneaks out and finds this abandoned cottage, and it's all dirty and stuff. So she sneaks soap powder and scrub brushes and stuff out of the orphanage and cleans the place up, and makes it her little hideaway. She buys cheap seedlings from the town garden store and plants flowers and such. I don't really remember the details of the book, but it turns out that the owner of the cottage is the person who lives in the mansion nearby, and of course, she is about to get in trouble for her sneaking around, but he adopts her. And she lives happily after.

Whatever, I loved that book so much. Now that I think about it, it's pretty much a rip off of "The Secret Garden", another book I adored when I was young, by Frances someone, who also wrote "The Little Princess", a great book, and if you have ever seen the Shirley Temple film based on it, ignore that, and read the book.

Geez, I am all over the place...that "Mandy" book always reminded me of the Barry Manilow song, because I read it at about the same time that the song was popular.

Whew! So much for the fastest distance between two points is a straight line! I just took about 80 turns to get to that point!

Guess I'll shut up now!

One last addition to the guilty pleasures list...John Denver. I'll continue to add to that list.

And life will end up happily after for me and Jon.

OK! I'm shutting up now!

Previous | Next

Miss These?
melanoma - Friday, Mar. 14, 2003
John Gray - Thursday, Mar. 06, 2003
funny tv stuff - Tuesday, Mar. 04, 2003
healthy cat=happy me - Monday, Mar. 03, 2003
mornings - Sunday, Mar. 02, 2003

Layout by KiKi

host