notepad.jpg (20447 bytes)
new Old Profile Notes Guestbook eMail

bitching up a storm!
2001-10-27 @ 11:36 p.m.

You know, I've been angry at companies before that I felt had somehow screwed me over.

I got totally screwed by a certain bank a few years ago who admitted that, yes, there was a record that I had transferred funds from my savings account to my checking account, and that yes, they had failed to do so, and that yes, I had bounced checks as a result, and that, yes, they were still going to charge me the overdraft fees.

And about a year ago, my cell phone company charged me for long distance minutes that were included free in my plan AND charged the same fees to my home long distance account...charged me twice for minutes that shouldn't have been charged at all.

In the first situation, the bank would not concede the charges, so I canceled my account and took my money elsewhere. In the second situation, the phone provider credited me back everything I had been charged, albeit after many, many calls on my part.

However, in both situations, I was unfailingly polite to every person I had to deal with, thanked the people who helped me profusely, and thanked the people who couldn't help me for trying. I did this despite the fact that I was not the one at fault in either situation, and despite the fact that many of the people I talked to were completely uncaring, unhelpful, sometimes complete idiots, and on occasion, unbelievably rude.

It's just what I do. I guess I was raised right, or maybe I just understand what it's like to be on the other end of the call, after years of working in customer service myself. When someone asks me "how are you?" I say "great, and you?". When the counter person at the store says nothing to me as I approach to pay, I still say to them, "Hi, how are you?". When the cleaning crew at my job comes over to empty my wastebasket, I say, "thank you" to them.

It just amazes me how many people I talk to on the phone every day at work who feel no need to be even remotely polite. I think most of the time, it's because down deep, they are mad at themselves because they got billed for something that they don't want to have anymore, and they know that THEY fucked up by not cancelling it earlier.

Just a few words of advice to everyone out there...and unfortunately, anyone reading this already knows this, because the stupid-asses of the world are too stupid to be reading this, but I'll vent anyhow...

First: If you have signed on for a "free trial" of any service with any company, there will most likely come a time when that free trial will end, and you will be billed for it. Especially if you have to give that company your credit card information in order to get the free trial. It's only logical. If you never read "fine print", then you only have yourself to blame when you don't know what you have signed on for. Saying "I never read that small print" is not a valid excuse, it's an example of what an idiot you really are.

Second: If you have a service with a company that has been charging you every month for the service, and you decide you don't want the service anymore, just stopping to use the service probably won't stop the company from billing you for it...you have to CANCEL the service. You can't buy a car and take it back 3 months later and say you never drove it, and get your car payments back. You can't get a membership at a fitness club and get your fees back after a year because you never went there and worked out. It just doesn't work that way.

Third: If you are calling a company to try to get something from them, like credit back for a service you didn't know you still had...being nice and honest will get you a whole lot farther than being an asshole and lying about it. Trust me, companies CAN credit back a lot of money to you if they feel you were somehow wronged by them or that you made a genuine mistake. They CAN, but if you're a total prick, they WON'T, and they will enjoy knowing that you screwed yourself.

That's my little diatribe for tonight (can you tell I had a rough day at work today! hehe)

Previous | Next

Miss These?
melanoma - Friday, Mar. 14, 2003
John Gray - Thursday, Mar. 06, 2003
funny tv stuff - Tuesday, Mar. 04, 2003
healthy cat=happy me - Monday, Mar. 03, 2003
mornings - Sunday, Mar. 02, 2003

Layout by KiKi

host