notepad.jpg (20447 bytes)
new Old Profile Notes Guestbook eMail

makeup
2001-10-19 @ 1:42 a.m.

Silly musings for the night...stemming from a weird thing that happened tonight. I was in the restroom at work, washing my hands (I wash my hands a lot, especially at work where I am always cold, and the hot water feels so good), and I looked up at the mirror and for a second I thought, "wow, what a pretty girl!".

Then realized it was me.

I've always loved makeup...I remember the first thing of makeup I ever bought was this glittery silver eyeliner pencil (go figure...Glittery???) at the Old Pueblo Drugstore when I was like 12. I couldn't wait to wear makeup when I was young. I never wore a terrible amount of makeup...luckily, I have nice skin, so I have never worn foundation. But I used to always wear eyeliner and eyeshadow, and blush, and I would never leave the house without lipstick, NEVER! I have sort of thin lips, so I've always been paranoid about not having lipstick on.

Since I quit my old job, 6 months ago, I got really lazy about makeup, because no one was looking at me. It's been good for me. When I thought I looked pretty tonight, it blew me away in a way. I have only been wearing mascara and clear lip gloss, and I'm actually liking the way I look this way better than with makeup. I put on lipstick a few weeks away, and not only did it feel yucky, I felt like I looked like a clown when I looked in the mirror. I like my eyebrows better now that I don't get them waxed into perfect arches...they look more natural now. I feel more like me.

I think a big part of this has not only been my own acceptance of myself, but also Jon's unconditional love of me. I'm finally becoming the person I should be with his love...he and I are so perfect together. We are completing each other, we are making the other the perfect person we were always meant to be.

I'm so happy right now, at this moment in my life. Things aren't perfect in every aspect of my life, and the world is pretty topsy-turvy, but I'm so happy. Because I'm in love, and that changes everything, like I never knew it would.

It changes everything.

Previous | Next

Miss These?
melanoma - Friday, Mar. 14, 2003
John Gray - Thursday, Mar. 06, 2003
funny tv stuff - Tuesday, Mar. 04, 2003
healthy cat=happy me - Monday, Mar. 03, 2003
mornings - Sunday, Mar. 02, 2003

Layout by KiKi

host