notepad.jpg (20447 bytes)
new Old Profile Notes Guestbook eMail

the adorable Mexican orphan
2002-12-16 @ 11:26 p.m.

The place where I work does this thing for the holidays every year, where they bring in a group of kids from an Orphanage in Mexico, and the kids stay at the resort all weekend, and do all sorts of fun things, and get lots of clothing and gifts and stuff.

It's pretty neat.

Well, the kids were traipsing through today on their way to decorate cookies with a local Girl Scout Troop, and my colleague Victoria and I were saying "hi!" and "hola" and this one girl of about 9 years old detached herself from the group and came over and kissed Victoria on the cheek and said "Gracias", and then kissed me on the cheek and said it again. She was so cute...this big smile on her face.

After she walked away, Victoria and I kind of looked at our computer screens for a few seconds, and then she said, "Well, I'm not really able to talk right now." And I was so glad, because I was fighting back tears, too. I was like, "Yup", or something similarly eloquent, I'm sure.

Victoria and I had been talking about this whole thing the other day, and wondering, is it good to do this nice thing for Mexican orphans? Or is it just sad to let them see something they may never see again?

I think that's probably why it slayed us emotionally so much today...that little girl was SO appreciative.

I hope she has a happy life. She has a lot of love in her heart.

Previous | Next

Miss These?
melanoma - Friday, Mar. 14, 2003
John Gray - Thursday, Mar. 06, 2003
funny tv stuff - Tuesday, Mar. 04, 2003
healthy cat=happy me - Monday, Mar. 03, 2003
mornings - Sunday, Mar. 02, 2003

Layout by KiKi

host