notepad.jpg (20447 bytes)
new Old Profile Notes Guestbook eMail

The Godfather
2002-12-15 @ 11:10 p.m.

Ok, I have always heard that The Godfather movies were great (well, from what I have heard, #2 wasn't so great) but have never seen them. I was never opposed to seeing them, just never did.

Well, tonight, I watched the original Godfather on Bravo...uncut and unedited according to the broadcast.

And here I am to say, 20 years after everyone else has said it...Great film!

Wow, I enjoyed it SO much...couldn't turn it off. It was just perfection, a great film.

I'm trying to figure out if it was based on one family (I sort of have always been fascinated with the old organized-crime families)...it seems like a composite of the Gambinos and the Bonnanos. I know the big wedding scene is based on Bill Bonnano's wedding, but I think some of the other things (like, the Don not wanting to get into drug dealing) are based more on the Gambino family.

Or, maybe I am completely wrong and have just watched too much A&E in my life.

I know that Joe Bonnano used to live down the street from where I grew up as a child, and it was normal as I was riding my bike to school to see the FBI going through his trash bins in the alley out back of his home.

I also have a funny Joe Bonnano story that a friend told me...There is this restaurant here in town that is now called Anthony's In The Catalinas, but back in the 70's it was called Las Campanas. Anyway, old Joe Bonnano used to frequent Las Campanas, with his bevy of "bodyguards"...as my friend told it to me, they used to sort of scoff at the idea of these old men being "bodyguards"...wondered how much protection they could really provide for the old guy.

Evidently, one night, a busboy dropped the tray he was carrying, and it went down to the floor with a BANG...and within a second, he had all of these "old guys" on their feet and with guns to his head!

They holstered their guns after they realized what had really happened, and sat back down for a lovely dinner.

Funny...at least I think so.

Ok...temperature check for the night...97.78! That's pretty high for me! So I am either:

1. Warm (not too surprising, it was warm today, therefore warm in the house)

2. Ovulating (could be)

3. Excited as all hell about being with my baby soon!

4. All of the above.

Previous | Next

Miss These?
melanoma - Friday, Mar. 14, 2003
John Gray - Thursday, Mar. 06, 2003
funny tv stuff - Tuesday, Mar. 04, 2003
healthy cat=happy me - Monday, Mar. 03, 2003
mornings - Sunday, Mar. 02, 2003

Layout by KiKi

host