notepad.jpg (20447 bytes)
new Old Profile Notes Guestbook eMail

Musings on Everything But The Girl
2001-12-16 @ 1:51 a.m.

I used to love Everything But The Girl...guess I still do. Their songs used to make me so sad because I knew I would never find a love of my own. Now I have a love who will listen to their songs with me, and hold me tight.

I always loved these songs by them:

Everything But The Girl

Meet Me In The Morning

(I love the chorus of this one especially)

"Meet me in the morning

I'll have the motor running

Down icy lanes, under a glass blue sky

This is living

This is living

I haven't come to be a stranger

I haven't come to break your home

I haven't come to harm your children

I've come to be your love

Don't let the grass grow under your feet

The sands of times keep running

For now at last I'm down on the street

With the engine running

Meet me in the evening

I'll have the log fire burning

Down frosty lanes, under a darkening sky

This is living

This is living

I haven't come to be a stranger

I haven't come to break your home

I haven't come to harm your children

I've come to be your love

Don't let the grass grow under your feet

The sands of times keep running

For now at last I'm down on the street

With the engine running"

Everything But The Girl

Apron Strings

(I think this song is meant to be about wanting a child, but I like how it changes in the end, and I interpret it in my life to how Jon and I want each other only, and will nurture each other instead of any children)

"Apron strings

hanging empty

crazy things

my body tells me

i want someone to tie to my lonely

apron strings

apron strings

waiting for you

pretty things

that i could call you

i want someone to tie to my lonely

apron strings

he'd look just like me when I was young

and I wonder as the days unwind

will he have your eyes or mine

then i wake up to my

apron strings

cold and lonely

for time brings

thoughts that only

will be quiet when someone clings to my

apron strings

and i'll be perfect in my own way

when you cry i'll be there

i'll sing to you and comb your hair

all your troubles i will share

for apron strings

can be used for other things

than what they're meant for

and you'd be happy wrapped in my

apron strings"

You'll be happy wrapped in my apron strings, Jonathan. Hope that doesn't make you sound too whipped, lol!

Previous | Next

Miss These?
melanoma - Friday, Mar. 14, 2003
John Gray - Thursday, Mar. 06, 2003
funny tv stuff - Tuesday, Mar. 04, 2003
healthy cat=happy me - Monday, Mar. 03, 2003
mornings - Sunday, Mar. 02, 2003

Layout by KiKi

host