notepad.jpg (20447 bytes)
new Old Profile Notes Guestbook eMail

my first date
2001-10-31 @ 2:35 a.m.

I don't know why I was thinking about this, but I was thinking tonight about my first real date.

It was right at the beginning of my sophomore year of high school, and this kid, Richard, was interested in me. I was interested in him because he already had a Driver's License, but was also a sophomore (in retrospect, that is a BAD thing, lol...means he was held back a year = stupid guy). But he was nice, and had a car, and lived in the guesthouse of his mom's place, and was a regular at the "Fine Line"...a club that had underage dancing on the first floor and a regular bar on the second floor. I had heard about the Fine Line, and had really wanted to go there.

(It was called the Fine Line because it was basically a gay bar, but had the underage thing on the first floor as a way of making money...so it was a joke that it was a "fine line" between gay and straight)

So, for some reason, Richard started flirting with me at school. Then, he got kicked out of my high school, I don't know why, and enrolled in Public School. I figured I would never hear from him again.

But he called me, and I was like OH MY GOD!!! And he asked me if I would like to go to the Fine Line with him on Friday.

Of course, my mom freaked out..."A NIGHTCLUB???? AT 15 YEARS OLD????" I only learned later that my dad talked her into letting me go. And that he did so by saying, "It's a gay bar, how much safer can she BE?"

I agonized over what to wear, and I still remember what I ended up with: A grey shirt from The Limited, all buttoned up and with a silver brooch at the throat (that was cool in the 80's) with a burgundy thrift store cardigan over that, and a long black skirt.

Richard came to the house to pick me up, and my mom was horrified, of course...he had an EARRING, and the tips of his hair were bleached!!! Might have well been Satan personified!!

I hurried him out the door, and we drove to the Fine Line. Once there, he wasn't in a hurry to get out of the car. I was really inexperienced, sexually, and he was trying to push me into things I wasn't ready to do. I kept fighting him off. He finally got exasperated, and we went into the club. He was really annoyed with me, and basically blew me off, and started talking to other girls.

I was liking the club, very 80's alternative, lots of Bauhaus and Smith's and such. I ran into this girl Kristen who I sort of knew from school. She was sitting on this chair, flicking the ashes from her cigarette onto her boyfriend's head. She was mad at him, and we were laughing about the fact that she was burning his head, and he was too drunk to notice.

I went out onto the dance floor and danced a lot. Richard finally came over and found me, and was like, "Hey, you're having fun without me!" and I was like "Hey, you have been doing the same thing for a while now!"

I ended up getting a ride home from Kristen, in her awesome VW bug.

That was my first date.

Oh, and stupid me, I went out with Richard after that for a while. But it ended.

I ended up spending a lot of time at the Fine Line, every weekend, Friday and Saturday nights, of the following year.

Kristen ended up pregnant the summmer after we graduated from high school...she has kids who are like 11 and 12 years old now. Weird.

No point to this story.

Previous | Next

Miss These?
melanoma - Friday, Mar. 14, 2003
John Gray - Thursday, Mar. 06, 2003
funny tv stuff - Tuesday, Mar. 04, 2003
healthy cat=happy me - Monday, Mar. 03, 2003
mornings - Sunday, Mar. 02, 2003

Layout by KiKi

host