notepad.jpg (20447 bytes)
new Old Profile Notes Guestbook eMail

high school
2001-05-31 @ 1:06 a.m.

I was reading my high school diaries today (I alluded to the fact that I have always kept a diary in an earlier entry).

Freshman year of High School generally sucked.

I had just come out of a really bad public junior high school where I was threatened daily by gang members because I was blonde and white and my dad had a fleet of nice cars. Dad was enjoying the spoils of new wealth (he was finally making money as an attorney after working hard for many years for little money), and had a vintage Bentley and three Mercedes...I used to BEG him to drop me off a few blocks away from my Junior High, but he refused, saying, "Goddammit, I have worked my ASS off for this...I'm not going to apologize for it!"

For some reason, my parents decided to put me into a Catholic, high-priced "society" High School. I had always been to public school. And had laid low in my Junior High School, tried to avoid attention as a white girl. So, Freshman year was weird. I was used to trying to be "tough" acting, but my new High School was very NOT tough. A million spoiled rich kids who all knew each other from their parochial schools. The Junior High I had come from had taught me to keep my eyes down and not look at anyone directly, or else I'd get my ass kicked.

I didn't make many friends my Freshman year in High School.

Sophomore year, for some reason, everything changed. I had spent the summer in London, and maybe that helped. I had met a really great guy that summer...Craig. He was 10 years older than me, and he was a clothing designer, and gay. For some reason, he adored me, and we went out clubbing every night. He used to make clothes for me on the spot, and then we'd go out and show them off. He dyed my hair light pink at one point. It was fun as hell! We used to dance our asses off at the Palladium, and much older guys would hit on me. Craig was very protective of me, though. But, it was reassuring to know that someone thought I was attractive.

So, I guess I came back for Sophomore year more enlightened, or something. I was much more fashionable, that's for sure. I met this guy named Richard, and that was my first boyfriend. Richard was older by Sophomore standards...he was 16, so he could DRIVE! And had a CAR! That was a big deal! Even more so, he had a cool thing going on...he lived in the guest house of his mother's house, so he could have parties and such without his mom knowing (not that she noticed or cared...she was a lush). I was immediately elevated to some kind of higher status in my High School because Richard was my boyfriend. He was kind of a big deal at our school...good-looking, popular. I'll never know why he went out with me. Everyone thought we were sleeping together, but we SO weren't. I was such a baby when it came to that.

One night, we were at this nightclub (we both had fake ID's) and he started giving me a hard time because I wouldn't have sex with him. I left and went outside, and was crying. And that's when I met my High School love, Chris. He saw me crying, and came up and said, "May I be of help?" I was a mess, and he drove me home. We didn't know each other at that point. But he was so sweet that night. And we had a long relationship after that. That's my recollection of my early high school years...I'll talk another time of the later years.

Previous | Next

Miss These?
melanoma - Friday, Mar. 14, 2003
John Gray - Thursday, Mar. 06, 2003
funny tv stuff - Tuesday, Mar. 04, 2003
healthy cat=happy me - Monday, Mar. 03, 2003
mornings - Sunday, Mar. 02, 2003

Layout by KiKi

host